See ATTA's COVID-19 Guide for the Adventure Travel Industry

The Finalists for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2012

1 Minute Read

The high calibre of this year’s applicants illustrates some of the very best in sustainable tourism. Hopefuls ranged from planning and management projects, to those featuring innovative engagement with local community, and business making a difference.

The Tourism for Tomorrow Award categories are Global Tourism Business, Conservation, Community Benefit and Destination Stewardship.

For those that unfortunately are not part of the Finalist selection, don’t be discouraged! There is always next year. We encourage you to apply as often as possible.

The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2012 is proud to announce that this year’s Finalists are as follows:

Community Benefit Award:

Saunders Hotel Group, USA
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel, Cambodia
The Thailand Community Based Tourism Institute, Thailand

Conservation Award:

Cheli & Peacock Ltd., Kenya
Inkaterra Peru, Peru
Namib Rand Safaris: Wolwedans Collection, Namibia

Destination Stewardship Award:

Destination Røros, Norway
Misool Eco Resort, Indonesia
Tanabe City Kumano Tourism Bureau, Japan

Global Tourism Business:

Banyan Tree Hotels & Resorts, Singapore
REI Adventures, USA
Wilderness, South Africa

Our thorough judging process is what makes the Awards unique. Every year, we ensure a rigorous three-step judging process including an on-site evaluation.

The on-site evaluations will begin soon with esteemed sustainability experts visiting each of the Finalists to make in-depth assessments and gain a well-rounded picture of the organisations and practices.

The winners will be announced on 17 April at this year’s WTTC Global Summit in Tokyo from 16-19 April 2012, following the evaluation of the winner selection committee.

The committee is drawn from media, government, non-profit organisations and the private sector. In addition to Costas Christ, the 2012 judges are Hon Mr Marthinus van Schalkwyk, Minister of Tourism, South Africa; H.E. Sergio Díaz-Granados, Minister of Trade & Tourism, Colombia; Fiona Jeffery, Chairman of World Travel Market & Just A Drop; and Keith Bellows, Editor-in-Chief of National Geographic Traveler.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *