Judges Selected to Identify Innovative Pioneers at 2013 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards

6 December 2012

WTTC announced 12 independent sustainable tourism judges who will select three finalists for each of its four Award categories.

Each year WTTC recognises the most innovative pioneers in sustainable tourism, following a rigorous three-step judging process including unique on-site evaluations of all finalists – the only Awards in the industry with such a thorough procedure.

Chairman of the international team of judges will be sustainable tourism expert, Costas Christ, and the panel has been selected to reflect all areas of the global Travel & Tourism industry including the private sector, academic institutions, non-profit organisations and government.

The judges will select a shortlist of 12 finalists by 21 January 2013, following which the second stage of the process, the on-site evaluation, will begin.

To meet the 12 judges of the Finalist Selection Committee for 2013 click here.

Following the on-site evaluations, the finalists will move into the last stage of the judging process; a separate Winner Selection Committee meets after a detailed review of the finalist judges' recommendations, the award applications, and the on-site evaluation report, selecting one winner in each Award category. The winners will be announced during the Awards Ceremony held at WTTC’s Global Summit on the evening of 9 April in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

WTTC also takes this opportunity to invite further entries to this year’s Awards. Applications must be submitted within one of the four Award categories by 26 November 2012.

Submit your application online at www.wttc.org/tourismfortomorrow/apply

Assistant Editor's Note: The definition of success in business globally is changing to integrate sustainable practices into the business model.  The WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards recognise and reward companies who are ahead of the game in sustainable practices.

Each year the Awards distinguish global leaders in sustainable tourism. Its rigorous three-step judging process involving up to 22 independent expert judges from all around the world, with on-site evaluations of all award finalists, set them  apart from similar schemes and have made the Awards one of the highest accolades in the global Travel & Tourism industry.

To find about more about Fair Trade in Tourism South Africa (FTTSA) launches partnership with World Travel & Tourism Council's (WTTC) Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2013, read the entire additional release by downloading here